New Rule In Effect…. Starting Now!!

Everyone who knows me, knows that I’m the “planner” of events. I bring people together to go the bar, a party, my house, etc. What people don’t realize is that planning events/functions takes a lot of work and trying to make sure no one misses out on the fun is a hard task. (I guess that’s why they leave it to me because they don’t want to deal with it).

Not being the planner of events is not what this entry is about, it’s about not forming relationships that are one sided. Summer 2010 is the first time I’ve been home for a long period of time in a while and of course, I haven’t seen a lot of people from home who always claim that I don’t have time for them. Who’s fault was that? Not mine, because I told people to let me know when they were free… but they did? No. I realized that people always say I’m good at keeping contact with others and there may be others who aren’t. Well that’s fine and dandy; however, I feel like a relationship/friendship, “bond” that people are suppose to have are two-sided.

When it comes to individuals, I feel like I’ve been in a few one-sided relationships and I’m not having it anymore. No more always looking for me, especially if you haven’t been looking for me. No more organizing events for people who don’t want events organized or who click “not attending on facebook.”

If you’re not looking for me or trying to see if I’m ok or not… I’m not looking for you or trying to see if you’re ok. It makes no sense in carrying baggage into my future that wasn’t needed in the first place. So a way to end this summer and start grad school is to let loose of baggage.

If I was contacted by someone who I haven’t spoken to in a while, I will respond; however, continuing a relationship with someone who obliviously isn’t trying to continue a relationship with you is pointless… so my advice is live, laugh and love the ones who appreciate you, at least care about you and you don’t have to force relationships with. As for the others, don’t put the effort in if they’re not going to put the effort in with you.

Comments
2 Responses to “New Rule In Effect…. Starting Now!!”
  1. My hat goes off to you Homey! This is the era and the point in our lives where we see who sticks with us through out the transition. Appreciation is a BIG thing, and when that goes out the window the other person takes you for granted and expects you to always be there for their problems or whatever. Friendships are like education, you invest in them so that one day they will invest in you. If that ain’t happening then its time to get the scissors and CUT. No one said growing up would be easy, but its a lot less hard without carrying excess, non appreciative, friends around.

  2. Marian says:

    Word son!

Leave a Reply

