Dear Past Me

Day 9… It is getting a little deeper. Let’s indulge.

Dear Past Me,

Thank you for holding on and not falling victim to the negative ways of the world. Thank you for not being a statistic and overcoming the negative statistics. I do wish the past me would have been less timid, but guess you can’t be perfect. I wish the past me was not afraid of rejection and just willing to take a chance. I wish the old me would’ve saved those refund checks instead of spending them. I wish the older me would’ve worked out more when my dad wanted me to. I wish the older me would have left that annoying job a long time ago, would have saved more money and would have applied to more scholarships. I am glad the past me avoided some confrontations in order to stay alive. I am glad the older me did my school work when I needed to. I am glad the past me went to speech therapy when I did. I wish the past me did more internships. I wish the past me would have continued going to physical therapy. I wish the past me wouldn’t let people walk over me. I wish the past me would have been more selective in to who I trust and who I let inside my circle. I wish the past me did not hold onto grudges. I wish the past me learned how to play an instrument. I am glad I trusted my gut feeling when it hit me. I am glad I said no to certain situations. I am glad for the skills I have learned over the years. I am glad I did not eat as much candy because I avoided cavities.

Leave a Reply

