Career Challenges

Ever since graduating from undergrad, my career type has certainly altered. I went from higher education to retail to medical and now back to higher education. Life is all about change and these past few years have shown me so. I thought for a while, I had it figured out. As I grew older, my interests change, times changed and responsibilities have changed.

I learned that it is ok to not stick with something anymore. If you are not happy, do not do it because you feel “you have to.” Do not wake up dreading to be in a place you no longer want to be in. Do not wake up saying, “I shoulda, coulda, woulda.” Sometimes, you just have to do what is best for you.

Since 2012, I was in the medical field for a bit. It was close to my apartment; very convenient. They fed me breakfast and lunch, they had a regular schedule and let me go on vacation when I wanted to. What they did not do is treat me the way I needed to be treated. I was underpaid, annoyed with the people in the establishment and was overworked. I also was in a place where I started to no longer grow, a place that I realized this is not what I wanted to do and a place where I knew I just had to go.

I kept procrastinating, kept saying maybe it will get better. I even said I was going to leave and ended up not leaving. One day, I was truly fed up… and I left. Leaving, although I had no back up plan, was the best move I’ve done in a while. I regained my sanity, I felt relieved and regained my self worth.

I say this to say… Sometimes you have to take that leap of faith. Sometimes, you might not have the answer, but that is ok. Just go. I am currently in this book club and the book we are reading reminded me the following:

  1. Analyze your true motives behind the work you do.
  2. How you define success will shape your entire life.
  3. Try to find the point where your passion and your profession can cross paths.

If you can do the above mentioned, you can succeed. If you feel like you are wasting your time, you most likely are. Do what’s best for you and remember, you can get advice all you want, but only you know what’s truly best for you.

Comments
One Response to “Career Challenges”
  1. Anonymous says:

    I went through the phase of career changes quite a bit, and I remember in college I was always switching up my major, because I was still trying to figure out what I really wanted. Trying my best to keep my parents happy, and not disappoint them. As I’m getting older I realized this is not what I want. Reading this post definitely gives me the motivation to do better and to go after what makes me happy. I come to the realization that my fear of failure, and defeat is the reason why I procrastinated so long to make a change. Well, that’s going to change, and reading this gives me the confidence that I needed! Thank you..

Leave a Reply

