Root & Bone Review

This past Friday, I went to the restaurant in NYC called Root & Bone. This year, I plan on trying new restaurants (wherever I go), get a good experience and yes… give ratings. NYC Restaurant Week is currently happening, so you get a pre-fixed price and menu if you are doing breakfast, lunch, dinner or brunch at specific places. So… let’s get to the nitty gritty.

The food…. the food was great. We had the macaroni and cheese (cheesy and tasted wonderful), a glass of white wine, some had the chicken (chicken was quite juicy) and waffles and I had the meatloaf and potatoes (which did not stand a chance). My friend said the deviled eggs were good, the rest of us had some buttermilk biscuits (which were off the chain)! Food wise, I definitely would recommend them. Service wise, they were terrible. One of the staff members was quite rude to one of my friends who did not like her order of whiskey and almost refused to take the glass off the bill.

When it was time to pay the bill, we split it down 4 ways, which we thought was fine. While looking at our accounts after, we notice one person was charged for 3 orders, while the other 3 was still charged the divided price. The waitress failed to notify my friend on this and when we called back, also refused to accommodate my friend for her troubles. The service needs to be better if they ever want to see me again. I appreciated it had a grade A on it and it was very nice and cozy. In terms of size, it is pretty small, so I wouldn’t advise a party of 20 to come there for dinner.

If I had to rate between a 1-5 (with 5 being the highest), I would give my experience there on Friday an overall 3. It could have been better, could have been worse.

Leave a Reply

